Official visit to Ahero Awasi
Waste Clean up at Ahero

The proposed municipality will consist of Ahero and Awasi-Onjiko wards. There are two key urban centres in the proposed municipality, namely, Ahero and Awasi.Ahero is an agricultural town in Nyando Sub County, Kisumu County, located 25 kilometers South East of Kisumu City. The town is at a junction of the Nairobi-Kisumu (A104) and the Kisii-Kisumu (A1) highways, making it a transport node. It was the 2ND urban Centre, after Maseno town, to be upgraded to a town on 2nd November, 2022, by His Excellency the governor of Kisumu County, Prof. Anyang’ Nyong’o. Awasi is an urban Centre also located in Nyando Sub County, about 18.3 Kilometers from Ahero town. The Centre also lies along Nairobi – Kisumu Highway, strategically at the border of Kisumu and Kericho Counties hence its famous name ‘Awasi-Border’. The direct link and close proximity to Ahero makes transportation of goods and services in the proposed municipality efficient. 


Map of Ahero - Awasi Municipality

Direct from the blog

News & Articles